Ashes

Fire, by i_a_n on Flickr

Fire, by i_a_n on Flickr

Passion burns our bodies,
this raging need that blinds us both
to any thoughts of caution.

A battle of desires,
feeding flames that spit and hiss,
jumping recklessly, relentlessly,
toward the darkening sky.

Then words, growled, low and deep:
“When I am done with you there will be nothing left
but charred limbs,
the smell of smoke,
and a smoldering pile of ash.”

Prophetic words they are, for in the end
nothing else remains.
Until a sigh, a breath of air
that stirs the embers,
lifts a spark that catches in your chest
and starts to burn again.

~~~

Since there were no objections the first time I am trying for a second time the experiment of illustrating my post with a photo taken by a stranger: Fire by i_a_n on Flickr and used courtesy of a Creative Commons Attribution License.

~ by Molly Montrevoir on August 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “Ashes”

  1. Until a sigh, a breath of air . . .

    I’ve been smiling since I’ve read this. Truth is like that. Makes us smile. Nicely written Molly.

  2. Thank you, Trée. Forgive my silence. I’ve been traveling in the north. Photos and reflections soon…
    xoxo,
    Molly

Leave a comment