Unfurling…

greenbud.jpg

You are there, inside, somehow, in all your radiance and beauty, enfolded for now in velvety green softness that muffles your voice.

My tongue longs to separate those leaves that hold you back and in, to slide under and push aside the curtain, to take you in my mouth and feel the bursting of the buds as you explode in outrageous color and light.

I want to peel away the layers, slowly so you feel the breeze on your skin in incremental revelations, and then display your silky naked flesh for all to see.

I want to coax you out into the world again and then parade you in front of all who would stop to look, to stare a moment at your bold and shameless beauty.

But you will take your time unfurling, languorously absorbing warmth and light, slowly stretching and awakening, until suddenly you can contain yourself no longer.

I will wake one day and find you there, ready all at once, as if you always had been.

And then, for just a moment, I will forget my hunger, my desire, and simply stop and stare.

Photo by Molly Montrevoir.

~ by Molly Montrevoir on May 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
