The Broker: A Breaking-in Story, part 2

mollyinthemirror.jpgUp the stairs and out of the flow of traffic I watch for them to emerge. When they do, I see that they are looking around, they’ve lost sight of me and they look perplexed, so I step toward them and motion for them to follow again. They do. I lead them to a diner across the street. I have decided my own travel plans can be delayed a bit and I want to make sure that I have them on the same page before I lead them anywhere else. I find a table in the back and they join me. We order coffee. Lean-and-slick looks intrigued, excited. His friend looks puzzled. I decide introductions are necessary.

“You’re friend doesn’t know who I am,” I say to Lean-and-slick. I turn to the friend. “I’m Molly and your friend here has been reading my blog. It is an erotic blog. Stories about sex. Naked pictures. I’m a bit of an exhibitionist. He seems intrigued, don’t you think?” I smile coyly.

“Ah, well that explains a lot,” laughs the friend.

I take his hand a moment. Soft skin, strong fingers, manicured hands. “Tell me your name.” He thinks for a minute. “David” he says, and I’m sure he’s lying but that’s okay. I’ll find out his name later. I just need something to call him for now.

“David,” I continue, “I want to show your friend here a few things. It’ll take a few hours, at least. Do you think he has the time?”

We both look at Lean-and-slick now. He’s blushing, but clearly excited. He looks embarrassed, intrigued, and nervous all at once. “And I don’t even know your name yet,” I say, arching an eyebrow at him. “Jay,” he says, without missing a beat, and I suspect he is lying too. But I’ll take care of that later.

I put David’s hand down and take Jay’s. It’s rougher than I expected, given his professional appearance. “Jay, then,” I say. “I want you to call your office and tell them that you’re going to be tied up for the morning. A sudden meeting, or whatever makes sense in your line of work. Tell them you’ll call in around lunch time but won’t be in the office until later.”

He begins to thumb his phone, barely taking his eyes off of me to scroll through the numbers. I wait until he hits “call” and then add, “And tell them you’ll have David with you.” The two men look at each other quickly. But neither objects. Jay makes the call. It turns out he wasn’t lying about his name, and neither was David. Those appear to be the names they are known by at the office, anyway. I’ll check their ID shortly.

When he is finished the call I take a hand of each and let my “stern look” take over. “You will be mine for the better part of today. There are some things I think Jay needs to experience, some things he wants to learn about himself, and they need to be witnessed. Jay, I will need to know if you have any health conditions I should be aware of, and you will need a safeword. I suggest we use “safeword” as you’re unlikely to call that out accidentally. This is all I’m going to tell you in advance. Are you willing to go forward?”

For a moment, nervous overtakes intrigue as the dominant emotion on Jay’s face, and I know he must be more afraid than he is letting on, but clearly he’s been wanting something like this for a long time. He tells that he has no illnesses or health conditions, but that he did once break his right ankle playing soccer. I promise to be careful with that leg. He agrees that “safeword” is the word we’ll use. I nod my agreement and then look to David.

“David, are you interested and willing to be a witness to this event? I will not ask you to participate in any way you don’t want to. What we need most is a witness. However,” I drop my eyes a moment and then look at him again, “there may be moments when you do want to be more directly involved. We can deal with those as they come up. Are you in?”

He laughs and declares his willingness to participate with a grin, looking at his friend as if to say “I have no idea what you’ve gotten yourself into, but I sure as hell wouldn’t give up a chance to watch you figure your way out of it!”

“Good then,” I bat my eyelashes a moment just for effect. “Now, let me see your drivers licenses please.” They appear surprised but dig their wallets out of their pockets and produce their ID. I note their names and addresses on a card in my own wallet. I make a quick phone call, leaving a message with a friend, “I’ll be at the gallery and will be home by 4. Call me.” She’ll know that if she doesn’t hear from me by 4 that she needs to investigate. More importantly, they know that someone is expecting me.

I snap my phone shut and take a long, appraising look at each of them in turn. “Well then, shall we?”

~ by Molly Montrevoir on April 16, 2007.

One Response to “The Broker: A Breaking-in Story, part 2”

  1. Moist! Oh so moist! I knew I should have waited until you had finished writing this before I read it!

Leave a Reply

 
