Janie’s Birthday Story, part 2

A Birthday Feast, part 2mollyinthemirror.jpg

First of all, when Andale gets an idea in her head, especially one that involves buying new picnic essentials (she is a consummate shopper) and taking out the convertible (she is also an unreconstructed speeder), you can be sure you’re going to get the drive of your life. She’s not a dangerous driver, mind you. She’s too good at it to be dangerous. But it’s an experience not for the faint-of-heart. That’s the real reason she doesn’t pull off into a side street even though I know by the look in her eyes that she’s tempted. She’s not ready to slow down yet. Speed is also the reason she drives barefoot. The vibration of the motor through the peddle travels right up her legs. I know if I reach over I’ll find her wet. But I don’t dare distract her at these speeds. I also know we’re destined to take the long way to the park. The long way to the park is just long enough for her to come, once. (We’ve timed it before.) And if this picnic is going to be at all about the food, I know she needs to come once before we get there. She’s been insatiable lately, and I know she has some energy she needs to expend before she can even think about relaxing. So I turn to sit with my back to the door and I stretch one leg out across her lap (I love to feel her thighs tense and relax as she gets close), and I keep the other safely out of the way of the gearshift (learned that after a recent near-accident), and feel the rush of air that swirls around my open legs, and imagine ways to test her ability to keep her eyes on the road!

A Birthday Feast, part 2, written by Molly. For part 3, written by Andale, click here

~ by Molly Montrevoir on February 14, 2007.

One Response to “Janie’s Birthday Story, part 2”

  1. Oh yes, I know that vibration. And I have a helping hand here with the effects as I read, just in case.

    😉

Leave a Reply

 
