A Birthday Wish for Janie

birthdaycandle.jpg

(Photo of Janie’s birthday candle taken by W. Merganser, though at the time he thought it was only fireworks.)

Molly’s Birthday Wish for Janie:

May you find beauty in unexpected places and may you continue to share your discoveries with the world…

May you know passion and desire of the burningest sort, and may you never tire of the heat…

And may the vibrations of your hum reverberate through your lovers, never fully diffusing and always returning to you one with a rich, deep resonance.

In that spirit, here are some famous words from my favorite bad-girl poet:

First Fig

My candle burns at both ends;

    It will not last the night;

But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends —

    It gives a lovely light!

Edna St. Vincent Millay

(ps: Janie, you have days worth of presents to come… more today (you did wish for something of the photographic sort, did you not?)… and more later (something like the beginning of a story).. and then more in the days to come (oh, and Andale and I are thinking we might be able to coax Kate into participating)… So, my dear, it looks like you’ll have to keep your candle burning for several days at least! I hope you have the stamina!

~ by Molly Montrevoir on February 13, 2007.

One Response to “A Birthday Wish for Janie”

  1. My Dear Molly,

    I know it is probably damned near impossible to believe this, but I’m having a bit of trouble finding words.

    My candle is lit. It burns. It will continue to burn as long as people as eloquent and kind and beautiful as you breathe the fire of life upon it.

    I look forward to testing my stamina.

    Thank you.

    Thank you, and kisses to you, and I hope you are feeling my hum reverberating through you right this very minute, and I hope you have at least one lover trying desperately and vainly to quiet that hum.

Leave a Reply

 
